The Speaker

The Right Honourable Tlohang Sekhamane

The Speaker is elected by the Members of the National Assembly, whenever there is a vacancy in that office, from amongst the Members or from other persons in accordance with the provisions of section 63 of the Constitution and Standing Order No. 6. In terms of section 95 of the Constitution, the Speaker is a member of the Council of State. The Speaker is the highest authority of the House who is responsible for presiding over House proceedings; maintaining order in the House; making rulings on matters of procedure; approving business to be introduced and debated in the House; chairing the Standing Orders Committee; representing the House in all its dealings with other authorities; overseeing the administration of the House. The Speaker is expected to be non-partisan and ensure that the interests of the minority parties in Parliament are protected. The Speakers’ rulings are final and cannot be challenged except through a substantive motion. The Speaker can only be removed from office by a resolution of the House supported by the votes of two thirds of all the Members.

The first Speaker, Hon. W. P. Stanford, C.B.E, D.F.C served from 1966 -1970 during the First Parliament of Lesotho. The first Mosotho Speaker to be elected to the position was DR. J. T. Kolane.

The Right Honourable Tlohang Sekhamane, Speaker to the National Assembly of Lesotho was born on the 30th of May 1955 in the Mokhotlong district. He is married with two children.

The Right Honuorable Speaker holds a Master of Philosophy (M. Phil) in Economics and Politics of Development from Cambridge University, 1989. He obtained his Post-Graduate Diploma in Development Studies from Cambridge University, 1988. In 1982 He obtained his Bachelor of Arts with Education (BA.Ed.) from the National University of Lesotho. 

Honourable Sekhamane has worked extensively in the field of education; from being Headmaster at Mapholaneng High School, a senior Curriculum Officer at the National Curriculum Center in the Ministry of Education from January 1986 – June 1986, while in July 1986 – September 1992, he was the assistant Private Secretary to His Majesty; Moshoeshoe II, at the Royal Palace. He then became a lecturer in Development Studies at the National University of Lesotho from October 1990 – September 1991. In September 1991 – December 1993, Honourable Sekhamane became the Director at National Teachers Training College, Lesotho. In January 1994 – May 1995 Honourable Sekhamane reverted to being a Lecturer and Head of Department in the Department of Development Studies at the National University of Lesotho. He was a Member of Senate and Member of Council. In the period June 1995 – June 1996 he was the Education Officer at UNICEF. He went on to become the Country Director at the Institute of Development Management in Lesotho in January 1998 – March 2000.

Honourable Sekhamane has vast experience in Governance and Parliamentary affairs; he was the Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Education from April 2000 – July 2001.  He then became Government Secretary (Secretary to Cabinet & Head of the Public Service) from August 2001 – March 2012. He became a Member of Parliament from June 2012 – March 2015. He joined Cabinet as Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Relations in March 2015 – November 2016. He moved on to become Minister of Finance from November 2016 – June 2017. Honourable Sekhamane is the newly appointed Speaker to the National Assembly from October 2022.