Clerk To The National Assembly Bio

Adv. Lebohang Fine Maema, KC, a 37 years experienced Legal Practitioner and advisor, has been serving as Clerk to the National Assembly of Lesotho since February 2013 to date.

Prior to this appointment, he has held office in the following positions:

• Lesotho’s Ambassador to the African Union and Permanent Representative to the African Union 2009 – 2011
• High Commissioner to Ethiopia, Kenya and Uganda April 2009 – August 2011
• Lesotho’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations (UN), New York September 2005 – February 2009
• Attorney General of Lesotho May 1993 – August 2005
• Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Justice and Prisons March 1990 – April 1993
• Private Secretary to His Majesty King Moshoeshoe II May 1987 – March 1990
• Lecturer in Law – National University of Lesotho August 1984 – April 1987
• Crown Counsel – Law Office Attorney General’s Chambers June 1982– July 1983

Adv. Maema was conferred with the title of King’s Counsel (KC) in 2005. Adv. Maema was awarded with the order of “Commander of the Most Meritorious Order of Mohlomi (CMMOM)” in 1988. He became Cambridge Livingstone scholar in 1984 and an Advocate of the High Court and Court of Appeal of Lesotho in 1982.

Adv. Maema graduated at Cambridge University (Selwyn College)UK with a Master of Law (LLM) in International Law in 1984, a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) at the National University of Lesotho (NUL) in 1982 and a Bachelor of Arts in Law (BA Law) at NUL in 1980

Clerk To The National Assembly

The Office of the Clerk to the National Assembly is established under Section 65 of the Constitution of Lesotho. The duties and functions of the Clerk are detailed under Standing Order no.10 of the Standing Orders of the National Assembly.

The Clerk is the Chief Accounting Officer of the National Assembly pursuant to Section 4(g) of the Public Financial Management and Accountability Act 2011.The Clerk is the Chief Parliamentary Advisor to the Speaker and Deputy Speaker and the Administrator in charge of the following Sections/Divisions listed below:

-Human Resources
-Information/Public Relations
-Information and Technology
-Serjeant-At -Arms