Deputy Speaker

Hon. Ts’epang ‘Matlhohonolofatso Ts’ita-Mosena

Hon. Ts’epang ‘Matlhohonolofatso Ts’ita-Mosena, Deputy Speaker to the National Assembly of Lesotho, was born in the Maseru district with her twin sister on the 6th of January 1977. She is a daughter to the late Justice Bambatha & ‘Makhosi Jeanette Ts’ita. She is married with three children.

Honourable Deputy Speaker holds a Master of Science (MSc) Degree in Development Management from the Open University of London, 2005. She attained a Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Computer Science and Physics from the National University of Lesotho, 1998. Her primary and secondary schooling was at Iketsetseng Private Primary, and ‘Mabathoana High School respectively.

Honourable Ts’ita-Mosena commenced her employment journey at LHDA as a volunteer in 1998 and was later engaged as an Analyst Programmer. In 2000 she worked at UNESCO in Paris, France where she was enrolled as one of the 20 Young Professionals globally, from least developed countries. She was in 2002 promoted to being a Systems Development Specialist. Towards 2007 she quit Europe, to Lesotho with a passion to contribute meaningfully to its development. She joined her siblings in BAM Group of companies as a Founding Director, holding key positions as the group expanded. Having contributed immensely with her partners in private sector growth, community building and women empowerment among other key areas, she retired from active private sector, to join politics in 2016.

Honourable Ts’ita-Mosena joined MEC at its founding stages, appointed as Communications & Marketing Secretary on its launch early 2017. She was elected as Deputy Leader in 2019. She became a member of parliament in 2017 through a PR seat, and joining the Economic and Development Cluster, SDGs & Agenda 2063 Standing Committee, and later Social Cluster. She was among other key assignments also appointed Chair of the Trade, Industry, Finance and Investment standing committee of the SADC Parliamentary Forum. She actively participated nationally, regionally and internationally to influence policy change particularly on business growth, women and youth, as well as the marginalized communities. She was elected as Deputy Speaker of the 11th parliament in October 2022.

Honourable Ts’ita-Mosena holds awards in media and gender issues, has served on various boards and enjoys reaching out to communities. She is a seasoned speaker and motivator, who has also authored a book.