Committees in the National Assembly are small groups of members of the National Assembly which are set up in order to discuss, examine or advise upon specific public policy issues or legislation. The committees carry out tasks that the National Assembly, acting as a whole, could not carry out effectively. The meetings of parliamentary committees are open to the public unless a committee decides otherwise. Parliamentary committees once established appoint their own chairpersons. The parliamentary committees are allocated Clerks to provide procedural advice and to keep minutes of proceedings. The committees are expected to produce reports that are laid before the House for discussion and decision.

There are the following categories of parliamentary committees in the National Assembly: